The Folk Brothers for Nov. 3, 2021: Song to a Refugee

Music programs are only online for two weeks after they are broadcast.

Diana Jones' latest album, Song to a Refugee, is a collection of songs based on the narratives of people seeking asylum from violence and political retribution in their homelands. This morning we played "We Believe You," inspired by Congresswoman Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez's testimony of the dehumanizing consitions she encountered on the USA/Mexican border. The song features co-vocals from Steve Earle and Peggy Seeger, as well as Richard Thompson's unique guitar-stylings.

Also on today's show: new music from Reg Meuross, Jake Xerxes Fussell, Anais Mitchell, The Punch Brothers, Dave Nachmanoff, and more!